It is said that love can be expressed in five different ways, and that the impact of one way differs from one person to the other. What you might consider the most important way to show love might be the least important to your partner. Let’s first find out what are the five languages of love:

1. Quality Time

Spending some quality time with your loved one is a definite way to show them your love, as time is one the most valuable things a person has. Once you spend your time on something, you can never take it back. With this thought in mind, a lot of people appreciate the fact that you chose to spend your time with them and give them your undivided attention.

2. Acts of Service

Acts of service is the same as saying, actions speak louder than words. Helping out your loved one with some work, preparing special surprises or even keeping their words in mind and acting upon it when it matters. All these are forms of expressing your love. Just remember that there are many things a person won’t do unless they care.

3. Physical Touch

Holding hands, hugging, kissing, etc… is a sure way to say I love you. With the physical touch, a lot of your inner emotions get transferred to your partner, and they hear it loud and clear. The touch is one of those languages that can’t be confused with something else. 

4. Words of Affirmation

Sometimes people need to hear how much they mean to the other through spoken words. Say I care about you, I love you, I miss you… just say it without reservations. There are a lot of people who need to hear it every now and then.

5. Receiving Gifts

Every once in a while, you need to put your money where your heart is and send a heartfelt present to your love. For some people, exerting that extra effort to pick out the perfect gift conveys how much you care. Just remember that giving out a gift, is all about the receiver not the giver. The more thought you put in picking it out, the more acknowledgment you’ll get.

Remember that for every person all five languages matter, but their importance differs from one person to the other. Find out how your partner grades these five ways and show them according to their tastes, not your own. You could be total opposites on what you perceive is the best way of showing love, so always show it how your partner would need it. Also keep in mind that choosing one way as the most preferable doesn't mean to neglect the others. Express your love in all ways, only with varying degrees to accommodate your partner's needs.

We Recommend:

21 Romantic Quotes We Love from Movies

Five Time Management Tips

Fustany Challenge to Embrace Positivity